Debating Report 2018

The 2018 schools’ debating league fixtures started on Thursday 25 January at Collegiate, where Pearson’s team was victorious against Riebeek College. Our team of Tyla Newland-Nell, Zelschke van Zyl and Taboka Ndhlovu acquitted themselves very well and set the tone for a successful debating season. Taboka was judged best speaker on the day.

On Saturday 3 February the annual Pickwick Books Alexander Road High School Debating Festival was held where some young, inexperienced debaters had an opportunity to learn some skills. They faced some tough and intimidating teams but this gave them an insight to the rigours of debating

Rounds 2, 3 and 4 were held against DF Malherbe, Theodor Herzl and St George’s College respectively, all of which Pearson won with Tyla Newland-Nell being judged best speaker on each occasion. Various team combinations were tried out during these three rounds and the following debated alongside Tyla and Zelschke: Daine Yapp, Grant Smith, Hans Müller and Zimkitha Gidane.

When Pearson hosted round 6 of the league, the team had a bye so it was an opportunity for the debaters and other supporters to act as chairpersons and timekeepers.

After 7 rounds of debates, Pearson progressed to the quarter-finals held at Alexander Road. Tyla, Zelschke and Taboka debated on this occasion but sadly were defeated by Collegiate 2.

Westering High School ran a junior league in term 3 so that new debaters and adjudicators could build their confidence and debating skills. As a result of our trip to Parel Vallei, we were able to take part in only one of these junior league debates. It did, however, give our junior A team (Irene Pitsiladi, Jodie Crockett and Jayden Dickson), which travelled to Parel Vallei, an opportunity to practise before our trip to the Cape.

At the annual Parel Vallei derby, our senior team was victorious, our junior A team drew and our junior B team lost.

The inter-house debating competition elicited much excitement and rivalry. The preliminary debates and semi-finals were held on Tuesday 11 September. After the preliminary debates, the semi-finals were contested by Wait 1 and Deary 2, and Duppie 2 and Wait 2. On Thursday 13 September, the finals took place between Wait 1 and Duppie 2. The motion was on the topical subject of History becoming a compulsory school subject, and some very interesting observations were put forward by the debaters. The inter-house debating champions for 2018 are Duppie 2 (Zelschke van Zyl, Siya Didiza and Afikile Koliti).