Netball Report 2018

This was indeed a Netball season to savour.

Our young First Team (including only two matrics) ended the season unbeaten winning all their Derby matches (10 in total) as well as the Arthur Johnson Netball Festival (12 out-of-town Schools) where they defeated Punt HS: Mossel Bay 31-30 in a riveting final. This Festival followed a First Team Retreat at Eerste Rivier where the foundations for this successful season were laid. Five Pearsonites ( Jesse Fourie, Chante Smith, Busi Vayo, Demi-Leigh de Jager and Nina van Niekerk) were selected in the top Ten at this Festival. In doing so, they became the first U18A team to remain unbeaten in a season, inflicting defeats inter alia on Framesby, Despatch, Collegiate, Nico Malan, Otto du Plessis, DSG, Hudson Park, Parel Vallei and Brandwag. In their Club Netball, they were Gold Medallists in the Grand Challenge Plate, Mid-Year Higher League and Knockouts Under 19 Competitions. Eight of the First Team players in this season were capped with either Provincial (E Cape) or Regional (NM Bay/EP) representation (Siya Dingiswayo, Jesse Fourie, Chante Smith, Britney vd Merwe, Nadine Burley, Nina van Niekerk, Athandile Plaatjie and Demi-Leigh de Jager) and all nine wear a Pearson Honours blazer for Netball. Demi-Leigh de Jager was selected amongst the top 35 Under 16 players in RSA.

Our Under 16As also experienced a relatively successful season easily winning all their Pre-Season competitions and being defeated only by Framesby and Nico Malan in their Derby season (of 12 matches) and being placed third overall in the Eastern Cape. They represented the School with great fervour with their only defeats being by less than 4 goals in both matches. Karli Slabbert and Busi Vayo represented E Cape Schools this season. The team was crowned as Gold medallists in the NM Bay C Reserve League and Knockout competitions.

Our Juniors, the U14As were undefeated throughout the season and emerged victorious in all their Pre-Season Tournaments, their twelve Derby matches as well as their four SASN League matches. They emerged as E Cape champions winning all their four play-off matches in East London in June. As a result, they represented the Eastern Cape in the SASN Top Schools National Championships in Boksburg in July, returning with a Top 18 position. Este Smith, Abongile Kweyi, Siya Tso and Kerri-Lee Barnard were selected to the E Cape Schools team this year. The team also achieved Gold medallist status in the NM Bay D League and Knockouts competitions.

Pearson has truly moved from a School where netball is played to a Netball School with which to be reckoned.